So Blue Baby Boy Layout

Having a new baby boy makes me happy in many ways.  He is a great addition to our family so my husband is not surrounded by girls all the time, and now I can scrapbook for boys more.  Time to share a blue baby boy layout which features Bella’s  So Blue paper collection.

Ruby Rock-It Brands materials: Bella! So Blue collection, Faded Empire Alphabet Chipboard, Bella Florals (White, Black, Silver), Blue Mini Bella Florals, Bella Blue Butterflies, Crafters Choice Mini Hue Silver Bling, Crafters Choice Bling Rhinestone Sheet (Blue, Black, Aqua, Gold), Fundamentals Black on Kraft Alpha Sticker Sheet, Bella Distressing Tool

Ranger Distress Inkpads: Chipped Sapphire, Broken China, Salty Ocean, Peacock Feathers, Wild Honey, Scattered Straw, Antique Linen, Weathered Wood, Hickery Smoke, Black Soot, Ranger Foam Applicators

Other: white cardstock, black ribbon, coloured mists

With the Bella Distressing Tool, I have distressed the edges of a white cardstock.  I then inked the edges with the Chipped Sapphire Distress Ink and Ranger Foam Applicator.  This is then adhered onto the Reflections paper, having the pretty bokeh print peeking through.

Next I positioned the Faded Empire Alpha Chipboard at the bottom of the page and spritzed a deep blue mist onto it, using these as a stencil.  Remove the alpha chipboards and wipe this clean gently with a baby wipe for future use.

I have fussy cut the night sky and scallop scales from the Cut-Ups paper and adhered this close to the photo.  I then added a cluster of Bella Florals and Bella Butterflies onto the page.  I have also framed the picture with some trimmed blue and black Crafters Choice Bling Rhinestone Sheets, altogether with the Bella Florals packaging.  I finished it all off by spritzing some light yellow mist and blending a mix of Ranger Distress Inks (see materials list above), and some bits of bling adhered around the page.

There is a variety of ways on how I like to blend colours to my layouts.  I will show you one of the easiest way which is perfect for working onto slim areas and edges.

  1. Gather your distress inkpads and foam refills.
  2. Without attaching the foam onto the applicator, apply the colour onto the foam concentrating in the middle.
  3. Blend this onto the edges, nooks, and crannies of the page.  I find this easier and more user friendly for blending slim areas compared to some sponge daubers or when foam is attached to the applicator.   This will also give you more control on how much or how little colour you want to add onto tight spaces.

I hope you find this easy tip useful for your next distress ink colour blending project.  The versatile So Blue collection is now available to purchase at a Spotlight store near you or at the Ruby Rock-It Brands website HERE, amongst the rest of the materials listed above.

Thanks for popping in.  I’ll be back with a gorgeous new Bella range, yay!

Cheers,

Thanks heaps for your lovely comments :)